Vanishing Girls – Lisa Regan

She was close enough to see that the girl had written a word on the wall in bright, warm red blood. Not a word, actually. A name…

Everyone in the small American town of Denton is searching for Isabelle Coleman, a missing seventeen-year-old girl. All they’ve found so far is her phone and another girl they didn’t even know was missing.

Mute and completely unresponsive to the world around her, it’s clear this mysterious girl has been damaged beyond repair. All Detective Josie Quinn can get from her is a name: Ramona.

Currently suspended from the force for misconduct, Josie takes matters into her own hands as the name leads her to evidence linking the two girls. She knows the race is on to find Isabelle alive, and she fears there may be others…

The trail leads Josie to another victim, a girl who escaped but whose case was labelled a hoax by authorities. To catch this monster, Josie must confront her own nightmares and follow her instinct to the darkest of places. But can she make it out alive?

Fans of Angela Marsons, Helen Fields and Robert Dugoni will be utterly gripped and sleeping with the lights on once they discover the first in this unputdownable new crime thriller series.

REVIEW

Josie Quinn is one of those characters that I imagined I would dislike, she’s a detective with issues and if you know me at all you’ll know I have a problem with the fact a lot of detectives have issues in thriller novels. However for me Josie was different, she’s feisty & fiery with more than a little bit of edge, hence her being on suspension from the police force.  I found that the more we found out about Josie, the more I loved her and I am excited that this is the first novel in the series as I am looking forward to reading more about her.

The fast paced nature of this story grabbed me and never let go, it was one of those books that kept me reading all day. I kept wondering who I was going to suspect of being involved next, as at every turn there seemed to someone slightly more suspicious coming into Josie’s path, and the thought that the young women would ever be found seemed to get further and further away.

There are certain parts of the story that are told from the point of view of missing girls and those were a powerful way of bringing out the heart of this novel, the fear that those young girls went through, not only when they were taken but through what happened next. They were definitely heart in the mouth kind of moments, when I hoped that what I imagined would never come. Some great suspenseful writing from Regan, and an interesting way to bring the full story together.

When the final half of the book arrives and the secrets and lies start to pour out on the pages, I couldn’t imagine how awful the horrors could possibly be, what more could be revealed, but the shocks kept coming. I can’t deny that I shed a tear towards the end of this novel, when the reason for the name Ramona is finally revealed.

Another character that deserves a mention is Josie’s Grandma, while she isn’t a major character of the novel she does play a pivotal part in the story and I loved her. She’s a strong woman, with an attitude and I doubt you could finish the novel without loving her.

A fantastic fast paced crime thriller that gripped me from start to finish. I can’t wait for the next instalment of the Detective Josie Quinn series, and as this was my first foray into Lisa Regan’s novels I will absolutely be looking for more.

Thank you to Bookouture & NetGalley for providing me this copy in exchange for an honest review.

Follow:
Share:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *