Keep her Safe – Richard Parker

How far would you go to protect your child?

Maggie’s daughter Penny is her whole world… and she’d do anything to protect her. So when Maggie wakes one night to find a strange woman in her home, she runs to lock herself in her bedroom with her child. But Maggie knows why she’s come…

Someone has been targeting mothers and offering them a choice: do as he says or their child disappears. This stranger in her home has until dawn to follow his orders… but Maggie too has the ‘choice’ to make. Can she put the pieces together to stop the cycle before her time is up?

An edge-of-your-seat thriller that will keep you guessing until the last page. Perfect for fans of Adam Croft and Tess Gerritsen.

REVIEW

One thing you can definitely say is this book certainly starts with a bang, no hanging around but straight into the action from the very first page.

As someone who isn’t a parent I can’t pretend to understand the lengths you would go to to protect your child, but I can imagine and that’s the feeling that gripped me throughout the reading of this novel. Exactly how far would either Holly or Maggie go to save their daughters?

I found the story very intriguing, especially as towards the middle of the book things took a very different turn. I found myself wondering how everything was going to pan out. So from the thriller aspect of this novel, it definitely did keep me guessing from beginning to end as to what was coming next, however there was something missing for me.

I found the second half of the novel a struggle, as for me it seemed to be taking a long time to get to what I figured might be the end point, and then when that point hit I was slightly underwhelmed. It’s difficult to explain in full without giving away too much of the story, but I am not sure the reasons the Babysitter had for doing what he did stealing the children worked in tandem with what we learnt about his past.

The above being said, I did find the story kept me engaged throughout and I was definitely looking forward to seeing how everything played out and if both women and their daughters would survive a possible encounter with the Babysitter. The novel was full of more than enough will they won’t they twists and turns to keep you wanting more, and I would be interested to try more of Richard’s work.

All in all a good thriller novel that will keep you guessing and second guessing everyones motives until the very end, but sadly one that for me fell a little short of my expectations.

Thank you to Bookouture & NetGalley for providing me this copy in exchange for a fair & honest review. 

 

Follow:
Share:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *